Fitness Favorites

Hi lovelies! Hope you are all doing well today. I was having a hard time figuring out what I wanted to post this week, and then my new Nike Macaron Flyknits came in! So I figured it would be perfect to share some of my current fitness favorites with you all! Fitness has been a big part of my life since high school. It mainly started when I wanted take control of my body/physical health, and let me tell you, that is STILL a journey. Here and there, I will take a break from exercising (life gets in the way), but all in all, I know that fitness is something that I will always incorporate in my ideal lifestyle. Over the years, I’ve definitely learned what I like and need to work on about myself, as well as what works and what doesn’t – gym-wise, so today I wanted to show you some of my staples/favorites!

Let me know what are some of yours too πŸ™‚

I’m thinking about doing a What’s In My Gym Bag post, so let me know if you’d like to see that as well!Β Nike ‘Macaron Flyknits’Β – my new bbs! I got these in the Lavender shade. Aren’t they just the cutest?! They match my Fitbit Flex 2 band too! I’m so obsessed. I do wish that the swoosh was black (it’s a dark purple), but that doesn’t bother me that much. It also fits really well with a majority of my workout gear since I mostly wear purples, pinks, and black. These are my second pair of Flyknits but definitely not my last because they’re great for long distance running. What I like most about them is how light they are. Don’t get me wrong, I will still wear my Adidas Ultraboosts every now and then when I feel like my feet need the extra cushion, but sometimes they can feel quite heavy and bulky on my feet. I didn’t really think the weight of shoes would make that much of a difference, but it really does. I ran 5 miles yesterday with these baby’s, my first time breaking them in, and got no blisters afterwards! Electrolyte tablets from Nuun – My coworker introduced me to these tablets and I have to say, they are super convenient and portable! I started off with the energy one which has natural caffeine in it. I used to use it as a “pre-workout” tablet, but after I wanted to try another flavor so that’s why I got this one, it’s Strawberry lemonade β™‘. This one isn’t caffeinated, instead, it has a boost of electrolytes in it. You may be wondering, what are electrolytes and what are they even good for? Electrolytes are what’s in a lot of sports drinks. They help keep your body balanced and hydrated. During a 1hr workout session, the average person can lose up to 1 liter (or more) of water through sweating! So it is important to give your body back what it has lost in order to maintain balance. These are fizzy and taste like strawberry lemonade, but there are a bunch of other flavors! They’re also way more compact and transportable than sports drinks. If you’re interested in trying them out, I got these at Sprouts.Β S’Well water canteenΒ – Like I said, it’s super important to stay hydrated! Especially at the gym. I used to hate drinking water, but I find that if you have a canteen by you at all times, it’s a lot easier to reach for it. If you’re really bad at it, try setting an alarm on your phone every hour to take a big sip. To figure out how much water you should drink, just multiply your weight by 2/3 and that is how many ounces you should drink per day!Vega Sport Protein Powder – Protein powder is a new thing that I have recently incorporated into my routine. I don’t drink it after every workout, mainly just the days where I do extra lifting or run extra long. Like many others, I used to be scared it would make me gain weight, but when used correctly, it shouldn’t do that. It is a huge help with muscle recovery. Especially now that I’m older, I can’t run 8 miles every day, my joints would just crumble. This helps me perform better and recover quicker! I went for a plant based protein powder because I hear that it is more easily absorbed into the body and has less side-effects than what other protein powders may have (ex. less boating or stomach aches). Having that said, it’s also doesn’t have the most friendly taste. They tend to be a bit more chalky. This one is okay though! The flavor is super sweet. It’s not a Vanilla milkshake by any means, but it is better than the one I tried prior to this (Sun Warrior Vanilla protein powder – it was so nasty). Β Let me know if you guys have any suggestions of other plant based protein powders!Fitbit – I wasn’t able to get a good photo of my fitbit, but here is what the app looks like! If you’re curious, I have the Fitbit Flex 2 in a lilac band. It is somewhat discouraging to wear on days that I don’t exercise, if I’m honest (sometimes I don’t even make my daily goal), but it’s super helpful for numerous reasons! I love using it to track my exercise and sleep. What’s great is that the Flex2 has a lot more exercises that you can track, and it’s waterproof! You can also set weekly goals for yourself too. My goal is to be active (go to the gym) at least 3 days a week. I try to do 4, but for the most part, 3 is what has been more manageable lately.

Thank you guys for reading! If you have any fitness favorites, let me know! I love trying out new products and such. Also let me know if you have any post recommendations! Hope you all have a wonderful week.Β β™‘

3 thoughts on “Fitness Favorites

  1. Wow you are super healthy! I workout 4-5 times a week and I don’t take any supplements or anything though I know I should. Those Electrolyte tablets look interesting so I’m going to look into those more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

