What to Wear When You Don’t Know What to Wear

img_5477Hi lovelies! How are you doing today? This past weekend I visited home without my sister – which hardly every happens; but I must say it was quite nice having the whole house to myself for most of Saturday (my parents had to go to work). I was pretty much sick the entire weekend (and still am) so it was nice to be able to sleep in and not have many tasks to do at home – which again, hardly ever happens.Β  It’s normally quite chaotic at home. Anyway, because I was sick, I didn’t really plan any outfit looks to shoot :(. I feel so bad because the weather was super nice, but health comes first. So I just stayed in. Hence why the photo you see above is actually almost a year old (hope you don’t mind)…I figured it would work with this post since I feature the same sweater.

So because I wasn’t able to shoot an outfit for you, I thought this would be a good opportunity to go over what I like to wear when I simply don’t know what to wear. I feel like we all have those days where we’re just aren’t as fashionably inspired or motivated to get dressed, and that’s okay! You do want to have a back up outfit in mind though, so you don’t waste precious minutes in the morning staring at your closet not knowing what to wear…or worse, leaving the house with an unhappy outfit choice. That makes me feel off for the whole day! Can anyone else relate? To minimize these occurrences, I like to brainstorm and mentally prep outfits that I’m going to wear in advanced. I’m not sure if anyone else does this but I figured it would be helpful for some of you to see what I like to throw together. I hope you can get some ideas from this! πŸ™‚Basics are everything!

When I don’t know what to wear, I always turn to the basics: knits, flannels, V-necks,Β  and a pair of whatever denim jeans that compliment the color scheme I’m going for that day. If that’s not something of your taste, the first step is to find what works for you. What do you like to wear that isn’t too fussy? What is something that is most comfortable to you but also somewhat presentable (unless you don’t have to go out)? Knowing this in advanced will definitely save you a lot of time. Set those pieces aside for days when you don’t want to put as much work into formulating your outfit. Once you have your outfit down, you can add little details to your outfit to dress it up more. It’s the little things that count. β™‘ I like to add a little extra effortless “details” in other parts of my outfit like, cuffing my sleeves or jeans, layering dainty jewelry, and pairing it with a statement shoe or watch. My favorite statement watch is my Jord Wood Watch. I always get comments on it when I wear it, yes it’s real wood! super light weight too. It’s the cherry on top of my outfits.

Another little tip I like like to do is wear a bralette with my outfit. I personally like laced ones. I mean, not only are they super cute but they are super comfortable too! Cute and comfortable is right up my ally. Even though you’re probably the only one who sees it, who cares? You’re looking good for yourself, am I right? Besides, there’s just something about wearing a cute little dainty piece of lace under my outfit that makes me feel super feminine and gives my outfit an extra boost.

Do you have any outfits you like to wear when you don’t know what to wear? What are some of your staples? How do you dress it up? Let me know πŸ™‚
Details:

| Knit: H&M |

| Bralette & Flannel: Urban Outfitters |

| V-Neck & Jeans: Forever 21 |

| Graphic-Tee: SheInside |

2 thoughts on “What to Wear When You Don’t Know What to Wear

  1. Wow how do you keep your whites from looking so fresh and brand new?? Sorry lol. Anyways I also do the same and just turn to knits and basics, and when I feel like I haven’t truly worn out an outfit I will sometimes even wear it a few days in a row until shop people start to notice lol.

    Like

    • My mom suggested color catchers, so whenever I’m washing something new/with color, I always add one into my load! To be honest I don’t separate my colors; the color catcher is what really helps! It collects all the color that could potentially wash out to other things. You should try it!

      And haha I can totally relate! Which is why neutrals are my favorite. It’s way easier to spot out color and remember that outfit than it is when you wear neutrals hahah!

      Like

Leave a Reply

