Skinfood Package Review ♡

 img_0296Hi lovelies! How are you all today? I hope you all had a nice President’s Day! #NotMyPresident (I couldn’t help myself). Although I worked this Saturday and Sunday but got the Monday off, so my sister decided to come and stay with me. Her stay was short but sweet. We went to some of our favorite food places, did a little shopping, and made the most of her stay. It rained the entire weekend though, so I wasn’t able to shoot any outfit looks for you. 😦 I really enjoy winter, but with all the rain, it makes it hard to style looks for you guys. Hopefully it clears up a bit so I can get at least one look in for you soon. But for today, I have for you a review of some skincare things I’ve been loving lately. As many of you know, I use Skinfood products pretty regularly. Prior to receiving these goodies, I’ve been on the hunt for some good masks and scrubs to UP my skincare game and Skinfood was so lovely and let me choose a few things to test out. Here are my thoughts on them! I hope you find this helpful in some way. ♡ Also, a little note, in case it is difficult to locate a Skinfood store near you, you can also find selected Skinfood products at Ulta! Otherwise they are also purchasable on Amazon and the Skinfood website.

Skinfood: Black Sugar Mask

First of all, the smell of this product reminds me of a nice, crisp, cherry coke *mmm*. I like to use this when my skin is feeling very dull or looks like it needs a very scrubby exfoliator. Exfoliating helps bring radiance back into your skin as well as scrub away any dirt or flakes that could be building up in your pores overtime. It claims to be a mask and exfoliator but personally I just use it as an exfoliator. It has lots of vitamins and minerals which benefit the skin as well! The consistency is similar to a paste, but it’s easy to work with. It’s very scrubby because of the sugar, so you’ll want to use a light hand; too much pressure and you’ll end up with a red face! Gently massage the product into your skin and then add water and continue massaging. The water breaks down the paste and it slowly melts away. After rinsing, you’re left with baby smooth, healthy looking skin! This could probably work well as a chest exfoliator as well. I find that when I exfoliate correctly, my skin looks much more radiant, and the products I use after sink into my skin much easier and that allows it to work more efficiently. I only use this once a week because I have sensitive skin.

Overall rating: 5/5

Skinfood: Bitter Greens Clay Soothing Mask

I was looking for a detoxifying, pore cleansing mask when I discovered this. Skinfood’s Bitter Greens line is hypoallergenic and includes 5 amazing greens: wheat grass, kale, celery, cabbage, and broccoli extract for “optimal detoxification”. I’m so happy I found this! Some detoxifying masks sting my skin, but this doesn’t. I like to leave it on for about 10 minutes, or until it dries, and then I massage my skin gentle with some water. The clay mask is surprisingly creamy, almost like a whip, and it has little pieces in it to exfoliate. The texture vaguely reminds me of LUSH’s Mask of Magnanimity; similarly, once you add water, the pieces help scrub away the dirt or oil that has been sucked out by the clay. I like to use it when I feel a break out coming on because it calms and soothes my ski while also being detoxifying and exfoliating too. It also smells nice and refreshing which is a plus.

Overall rating: 4/5

Skinfood: Fresh Apple Essence

Essence has become a huge talk in the beauty world recently, and for good reason. If you don’t know what essence is, in Korean beauty, it is used after you finish cleansing. Essence helps tone, and prep your skin for products that you will use on top of it. It assists in absorbing other products as well as retaining the moisture and hydration in your skin. I also find that after using essence, my skin looks a lot more supple and healthy!  It can either be in a watery-form or gel texture. This one has a gel texture which sinks into the skin well (even for oily skin girls). It’s main ingredient is its special unripened green apple extract, which is used to refine the appearance of pores (and it makes it smell like yummy green apples). After some use, I can say that it has helped blurred the appearance of my pores. I think with continuous use it will keep up the good work. It has a nice gel texture  which sinks into the skin right away. As true combination type, my T-zone tends to get oily, so I don’t want a product that will leave a sheen on my skin, so this is right up my ally!

Overall rating: 4/5

img_0294Skinfood: Sheet Masks

Ah, the oh so popular sheet masks. Many brands are coming out with their own versions of sheet mask. Their purpose is to boosts your skins appearance and feel in some way; and they are super pampering! I personally like these because Skinfood sheet masks because they boost my skins appearance with their fruit and vegetable derived ingredients! They have a huge variety of different types of masks, each with different extracts that target various types skin problems/conditions. If you choose to use sheet masks, you want to treat it like a serum (you don’t have to wash it off after disposing the mask) and use it as your final step in your skin care routine. The directions say to leave these on for 10 to 15 minutes, but I usually leave them on for 15 to 20 to allow every last bit of serum to sink into my skin for optimal nutrients. After using these, my skin feels super hydrated and looks radiant and glowy! Another plus is that they are very affordable, so if you are curious about sheet masks, definitely give these a try!

Overall rating: 5/5