Mindful Minutes

img_3879Hi lovelies! I hope you are all doing well. This week, I have for you a slightly different blog post. I do apologize for posting it a bit later in the day than usual. This past weekend, I found myself in a difficult place. My internal thoughts were screaming at me, and I couldn’t get them sorted out. After I got off work on Sunday, I knew I needed to do something to get myself out of my mood. Luckily, I had Monday off so I was able to get a full day of me-time to recharge. I know some people turn to their friends and/or family for comfort, and there is nothing wrong with that, but I have found some simple ways for you to find comfort in your own company and I wanted to share them with you all today.

If any of you know of Zoella, she posted a video on her Youtube channel called Mindful Minutes, which really inspired me to create this post. I figured it would be a great way to spread ideas on what you can do during your alone time and different ways to recharge. If you are an introvert like me, this alone time is critical in order to keep you functioning properly. I need my me-time, otherwise my mind gets cluttered, overwhelmed, and stressed. These are just a few things I like to do during my me-time. I hope you find them helpful!

Get cozy – I love having lazy days. I know some people cannot stand staying in bed all day, but I am all for it. If I have a whole day to myself, I like spending the morning in bed, catching up on emails and/or working on new ideas for blog posts.

Tea Time – Whether it be at home or at work, on a lazy or busy day, I always try to make time for at least one cup of tea per day (in silence and not doing anything is preferable). I can drink tea at pretty much any time of the day, but the mornings are most important. I feel like it helps get me through the morning (much like coffee for some people). I used to add creamer and sugar to my tea (yes, both), but recently I’ve just had it plain with a bit of honey.

Snacks – snacks, snacks, and more snacks. My favorites are sweets. They just make me happy. Must I say more?

Read – Whether this be the newspaper, an article online, a blog post, or an actual book, just read. This not only helps exercise your mind, keeps you sharp, but it also takes you away from real life; at least temporarily. Lately, I’ve been loving Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. Her poems are beautiful.

Watch your favorite TV shows, movies, Youtubers – Now, I understand this can be controversial. Many people who take time for themselves consider shutting off all electronics. But for me, I love getting lost in my favorite TV show, movies or Youtuber. I truly enjoy spending my time doing that, why restrict myself from that, right?

Walk/Exercise – Monday was actually the first day back at the gym for me after three weeks. I have no more excuses and need to make it more of a priority. I used to spend a lot of time at the gym when I was in college. We’re talking about 2 hour workouts, 5-6 days a week. It probably wasn’t healthy. But now I’m trying to be healthier, going to the gym, and doing it the right way. Often times I go in with no motivation, but by the time I’m on the treadmill, I think to myself “I’m already here, I might as well make the most of it”, and I always end feeling better. Even on a bad workout day (we all have those days) it’s better to have done something than nothing at all. It’s all worth it in the end. And you sleep like a baby, seriously. Even just going for a walk can help relieve some stress and help you clear your mind.

Write – Write your thoughts out, or even your whole week out. If you can’t come to conclusion with your feelings, at least write out your schedule for this week. I find that this really helps me organize a little bit of the chaos in my head.

Thank you so much for reading guys! I hope you enjoyed this slightly different post. I just to share some things I like to do during my version of mindful minutes. I hope you found this helpful in some way or just simply enjoyed the read. Let me know what are some things you enjoy doing during your alone time too, I would love to read them!

One thought on “Mindful Minutes

  1. Pingback: Coffee Nook | Boohoolindalieu

Leave a Reply

