How To Create The Perfect Mason Jar Salad

img_3076For the past couple of years, people have found uses so many different uses for mason jars. If you are a DIY-addict, you’d know they are so fun to decorate and they make great vases, center pieces, brush holders, cups, and more! Today, let’s talk about how great they are for packing food! In t he past, I’ve used them for yogurt parfaits, overnight oats, and chia seed pudding – mainly breakfast and desserts. After reading that they’re great for salads and a variety of other lunch dishes, I decided to try it out for myself. I came across a special layering technique on Self Magazine that was super helpful and decided to make some tweaks and changes for my own salad. I mean, what’s worse than a soggy salad? Not much.

If you’d like to know how to layer the perfect mason jar salad. Please keep reading πŸ™‚

Dressing – should always be put at the bottom so that your salad doesn’t get soggy. I put mine in a separate container just because I wasn’t sure how much dressing I would need and didn’t want to have too much!

Additives + Meats – should be the next layer in your mason jar. Examples could be: cucumber, tomatoes, beets, corn, onions, radishes, salmon, chicken, carrots, etc. Anything generally harder than the leafy greens itself should be added after the dressing but before the salad because you don’t want to crush your leafy greens!

Leafy greens – should be added last (ish – you’ll see once you read my last bullet) so that it isn’t crushed by anything on top of it. I put an herbal spring mix in mine but the top can consist of any of your favorite greens! My second favorite is spinach! A tip for using spinach: if you are someone that gets that unpleasant chalky taste in your mouth after eating spinach, add some lemon to your salad! Spinach has a high amount of oxalic acid that creates crystals in your mouth. When you add lemon to it, the acidity of the lemon cancels out the oxilate stones and doesn’t give you that chalky, gritty taste!

Toppings (optional) – such as cheese can be added to the top as well as long as they’re not heavy blocks of mozzarella that will weigh down your salad. I love a bit of feta cheese in my salad so that’s what I added to mine along with some green olives. I didn’t want the empowering smell of the olives to mix in with the other foods in my jar so I added it to the top.

I hope you found this helpful! Let me know down in the comments what your perfect salad consists of and what kind of mason jar meals you’ve tried!

Leave a Reply

