I Will Follow You Into The Dark

Hello lovelies! Today I’m sharing with you some of the shots I took at the Pace Gallery.  I’ve been wanting to go ever since I found out about it but it’s been hard scheduling a time to go with my work schedule. My boyfriend surprised me with a trip there on my birthday! The experience was amazing. All of the lights were so beautiful. I wanted to stare at it forever. This gallery showcases digital and technological art within multiple rooms. Words can not explain how out of this world it felt being there! Now I want to go on the hunt for other digital art galleries and visit all of the ones in the Bay Area. If you are in Northern California and can visit Palo Alto, I highly recommend visiting the Pace Gallery. The format of this post might be slightly different…just because I want to tell you all what I know about the pieces, so get ready for a mini tour of my favorite pieces! Hope you enjoy this post. 🙂While we were there, it just so happens that a friend of mine was interning there. She was able to tell us some cool things about the different pieces. This one in particular (top) was a room with lights hanging down. For this room, you were able to control the light effects by going onto a site and choosing a light effect. And because you were surrounded by light streamers hanging down, it felt like you were in a different world! We would’ve stayed there longer but it was super hot because of the lights, it made it uncomfortable to stay for too long. Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetThis ocean piece (above) was one of the pieces that stood out to me, because if you look really close, the waves are all just streaks of light that make up the ocean. It takes up multiple frames and is mounted onto the wall. Its continuous movement was almost hypnotizing. Something about ocean waves never fails to calm me.

This next piece (top) was a hologram on a tall wall. At first I wasn’t sure what it was at first, but a few minutes it started to grow branches and grew into what looked like a blossom tree that started to bloom into many different greens and exotic flowers.

At full bloom, this is what the final product looked like (top). It was a little difficult to get the photos because of how dark it was in the gallery, but I was so happy with the way these turned out! I MEAN COME ON? LOOK HOW COOL THEY ARE! …I digress…

The photo above was taken in an enclosed room. My friend explained to me that if you sit in one spot long enough, the flowers begin to grow on top of you. It was awesome!!   This next piece was mounted on the wall (like the ocean piece). There was two floral pieces that were three frame sets long. I was told that it goes through each season within one hour. If you got up really close to the piece, you were able to see the flowers in greater detail. I felt like a mosquito looking into the light (not the best description, but I don’t know how else to describe it!). I was in awe of everything there.

These were only some of the pieces there but definitely my favorites. If you have visited the Pace Gallery, leave a comment down below letting me know which piece was your favorite! Or if you know of any other digital art galleries/museums, leave me a comment down below because I definitely want to check out some more after this experience.

The outfit of the day – Top: Forever21 | skirt: eBay | heels: Forever 21 | cross-body envelope bag: Banana Republic | watch: Daniel Wellington

Leave a Reply

